top

STATE MOTORCYCLE HELMET — USE REQUIREMENTS JANUARY 2015

State Motorcycle Helmet Laws

19 States, D.C. and P.R. Required Use For All Riders:



  • Alabama

  • California

  • District of Columbia

  • Georgia

  • Maryland

  • Massachusetts

  • Michigan

  • Mississippi

  • Missouri

  • Nebraska

  • Nevada

  • New Jersey

  • New York

  • North Carolina

  • Oregon

  • Puerto Rico

  • Tennessee

  • Vermont

  • Virginia

  • Washington

  • West Virginia

Not Required In 3 States:



  • Colorado

  • Illinois

  • Iowa

28 States Require Use For A Specific Segment of Riders (Usually Under 18):



  • Alaska

  • Arizona

  • Arkansas

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware (1)

  • Florida (2)

  • Hawaii

  • Idaho

  • Indiana

  • Kansas

  • Kentucky (3)

  • Louisiana (4)

  • Maine (5)

  • Minnesota

  • Montana

  • New Hampshire

  • New Mexico

  • North Dakota

  • Ohio (6)

  • Oklahoma

  • Pennsylvania (9)

  • Rhode Island (7)

  • South Carolina

  • South Dakota

  • Texas (8)

  • Utah

  • Wisconsin

  • Wyoming



  1. Required for riders under age 19 and helmets must be in the possession of other riders, even though use is not required

  2. Required for riders under age 21 and for those without $10,000 of medical insurance that will cover injuries resulting from a motorcycle crash.

  3. Required for riders under age 21, riders operating a motorcycle with an instruction permit, riders with less than one year”s experience, and/or riders who do not provide proof of health insurance to county clerk. (insurance provision repealed effective July 15, 2000).

  4. Required for riders under age18 and those who do not have a health insurance policy with medical benefits of at least $10,000. Proof of policy must be shown to law enforcement officer upon request.

  5. Required for riders under age 15 years of age, novices, and holders of learners permits.

  6. Required for riders under age 18 and first year operators.

  7. Required for riders under 21 and first year operators.

  8. Required for riders age 20 and under and those who have not completed a rider training course or who do not have $10,000 medical insurance coverage.

  9. Required for riders under 21 and age 21 or older who have had a motorcycle operator”s license for less than two years or who have not completed an approved motorcycle safety course.